Energy Transitions in the Context of Climate Change and Sustainable Development

General Info

Clean energy has become a major growth sector as countries around the world have increasingly looked to transition to low emission energy systems. The EU and the Arab region particularly the GCC are both committed to progress toward low emission and sustainable goals. However, this shift needs to progress substantially if they are to meet the Paris agreement goals. This means that the energy sector should undergo a deep transformation over the next few decades. This shift should however be carried out in all the sectors of the economy. Indeed, sectoral coupling and a more integrated approach towards the clean energy transition is required in a number of sectors such buildings, transport and industry. Moreover, the development of smart grids, distributed energy systems and digitalisation will enable the massive introduction of clean energy technologies and therefore facilitate a smooth energy transition.

This webinar will provide an overview of the goals and activities that the two regions are undertaken to achieve their clean energy targets including the EU green deal and the different GCC country visions and strategies. Also, it will discuss the challenges that the two regions are facing and what can be done to transform them in business and economic opportunities. In addition, the webinar will highlight the efforts that both regions are undertaking to foster their collaboration in the clean energy and climate change domains.

The webinar is organised by the European Union Delegation to the State of Kuwait and the State of Qatar, the EU-GCC Clean Energy Technology Network, and the Qatar National Research Fund (QNRF) and will take place on Thursday 17 June 2021 at 13.00 CET/ 14.00 Qatar Time / 15.00 GST.